Remember me
▼ Content

Hurricane Dorian, sign of Global Warming?

Page 1 of 212>
Hurricane Dorian, sign of Global Warming?07-09-2019 01:30
HarveyH55Profile picture★★★★★
(5197)
Really? Think it's in poor taste to use this for politics, it has even dissipated, yet. Several thousand people are still missing in the Bahamas, many will probably never be found.

True, this store was different in many ways, from past storms. I've got about 35 years or so experience, living in Florida. Slow moving storms, do tend to stall, when they make landfall, nothing unusual there. Dorian spun up pretty quick, from a maybe, to a major storm in days. It didn't have a lot of forward speed though, predicting a track was difficult, the stall over the Bahamas, and duration was unique though. Doubt it had anything to do with climate change, hurricanes don't drive themselves, just spin. Upper atmosphere winds move the storm.

A lot of rising sea level talk, but should the seas have risen, before the storm surge? Would the islands been complaining about losing land, long before this storm? Powerful storms push a lot of water, lot of coastal flooding. Usually what causes most of the storm damage.

There were claims that most of the Cat 5 storms have happened in the past 20 years... We've only had the tools to measure the storms consistently for about twenty years. Past few years, the started naming sub-tropical storms, and we still don't run through the 22 names each year. We are getting fewer named storms. They send planes into the storms, hurricane-hunters, which take measurements, which seems odd, with all the radar, weather satellites, and other tools, people have to go thrill-seeking on the taxpayer dollar(s). Maybe it's the man-made CO2 from those planes, that are boosting these storms...