Remember me
▼ Content

General Question in General Forum.

Page 3 of 4<1234>
19-08-2022 03:47
IBdaMannProfile picture★★★★★
(14420)
duncan61 wrote:
Swann wrote CO2 molecules don't really interact with sunlight's wavelengths. Only after the Earth absorbs sunlight and reemits the energy as infrared waves can the CO2 and other greenhouse gases absorb the energy.
I agree with this.I am studying the Stefan-Boltzmann law to make a connection but have not done so yet.[I am getting all matter absorbs and radiates energy so to me it means that matter that absorbs and radiates energy more efficiently can make a difference

No duncan, you didn't understand what you were taught, apparently.

I just finished explaining that all matter, always, everywhere adheres to the Stefan-Boltzmann law. Along comes Swan claiming that CO2 doesn't really interact with "sunlight's wavelengths" ... and instead of calling BOOOLSCH'T, instead of saying "Aha! Gotcha!" as I told you, your response was "I agree."

I don't get it. You won't call boooolsch't on anything that runs directly counter to physics.

One more time: all matter, always, everywhere, absorbs electromagnetic energy to some extent, and radiates thermally to that same extent per Kirchhoff's law.

Every body of matter, always, everywhere, radiates at the fourth power of its absolute temperature and has an EMISSIVITY value that determines its absorption/emission efficiency considering all wavelengths. This is Stefan-Boltzmann. [Ergo, Stefan-Boltzmann never has a wavelength term, so tell Swan that ALL matter "interacts" with sunlight]

You are stuck on this phrase "can make a difference." This is as totally meaningless as it is totally undefined. There is no "can make a difference" in science. Either something causes a specific difference or it is not recognized as making any particular difference. Science does not deal in the undefined. Science does not establish that anything "can make an undefined difference."