Remember me
▼ Content

80 year moving average data

Page 1 of 3123>
80 year moving average data20-03-2015 03:05
seaninak
☆☆☆☆☆
(36)
I'm a structural engineer. I make my living designing structures in the arctic. I have studied temperature data very closely because it factors into projections for ice formation, permafrost temperature and many other aspects of what I design.

Several years ago, I was gathering data for a site for the design of a bridge. Using the 50+ years of temperature data for Barrow, Alaska I generated a Freezing Index chart to determine the trends for use in our project. Just for entertainment, I fit a linear regression to the data to see if I could see "Global Warming" in the data. Sure enough, you could clearly see a decline in the Freezing Index over the 50 year period corresponding with a warming trend in the data. However, I also noticed that there was more of a curve to the chart than a linear representation captured. When a curve was fit to the data, it corresponded with a sinusoidal function with a period of approximately 80 years.