Remember me
▼ Content

CO2 Behavior in the Atmosphere

CO2 Behavior in the Atmosphere09-04-2014 07:50
ratzmoose
☆☆☆☆☆
(2)
Hi,

I am having a hard time filtering the internet for good sources on climate change... maybe because I come from the place of being a sceptic but in truth I am not that educated in the subject but I do understand science (I am a chemical engineer) so I am looking to make an unbiased opinion.

My scepticism comes from all this doomsday message that is preached, it seems so easy to point to a flood or an abnormal weather event and put blame on "Global Warming / Climate Change", the fact that the message had to be re-branded from Global Warming to Climate change. Also I recall in the 90s when I was growing up that all the doomsday predictions of what they are saying is going to happen in the next 15 to 40 years was supposed to happen by 2010 (I fully acknowledge I could be totally remembering this wrong). Like my gut is telling me this is wrong and a lot of this is fear tactics sort of the 'Science" version of a religious doomsday prediction.

Enough of the rant and on to my own search for the facts... I am looking for good sources to read, if it is an article please post one that is sourced. Ok so here are my first series of questions:

1. How does CO2 behave in the atmosphere. I don't mean the greenhouse effect I understand that, I mean where is it located in the atmospher? How is it dispersed? like is it spread out, does it form a layer? Is it Evenly spread out, or does it remain concentrated, I imagine there are pockets of higher concentrations in areas of high CO2 emissions but outside of that is it pretty uniform? What range of altitude does it typically hang out in?