▼ Content

Tipping point

Page 1 of 5123>>>
Tipping point29-10-2015 23:00
maciejzi
☆☆☆☆☆
(8)
Hello,

What is the reason for +2'C limit on CO2 emission?

I studied the famous CO2 vs Methane vs Temperature graph and found out that there are several tipping points, both at the upper and lower limit of temperature, namely +2'C and -6'C. In other words, every time the temperature went up to +2'C compared to the preindustrial era average, it then quickly dropped to -6'C. After such sudden drops there are periods of when the temperature was slowly rising, with many local minimums and maximums on its way up to +2'C.

So is it true that when the temperature will get to +2'C it will start to get down?
And that the sudden drop in temperature once it will reach +2'C will be due to tectonic/volcanic events resulting from melted poles rebounding?

The temperature methane and CO2 chart is very popular and may be found here:

http://arctic-news.blogspot.com/2013/06/mean-methane-levels-reach-1800-ppb.html
Edited on 29-10-2015 23:01
30-10-2015 00:02
trafnProfile picture★★★☆☆
(779)
Hi maciejzi,

As far as I can tell, no one really knows what the best temperature target goal is. The 2C number seems to be based upon a significant amount of scientific data, but it also seems to be a politically influenced compromise as well.

Given that both science and politics are very real, and very important parts of our wold today, 2C is probably a good starting target, but I don't know if anyone can ever truly guarantee to you that it is the absolutely best or only target.

The 2015 M2C2 (Global 9/11) Denialist Troll Awards

1st Place - Jep Branner - Our Stupid Administrator!
2nd Place - IBdaMann - Science IS cherry picking!
3rd Place - Into the Night - Mr. Nonsense numbers!
4th Place - Tim the plumber - The Drivel Queen!
30-10-2015 00:19
maciejzi
☆☆☆☆☆
(8)
trafn wrote:
I don't know if anyone can ever truly guarantee to you that it is the absolutely best or only target.