Remember me
▼ Content

This forum is very disappointing

This forum is very disappointing16-10-2016 16:28
jerrylh
☆☆☆☆☆
(13)
I was new to this forum a few days ago. I came here to learn more about climate change as it is an interest of mine and I have some basic knowledge. What I see are personal insults and attacks about definitions. Most (posts are personal attacks). IbdaMann is the worst. He/she immediately attacked me for not being new. When I stated that I was indeed new IbdaMann told me I was being defensive
A couple of IbdaMann's responses
"Hello? Can you read this? Am I writing above your level?
I clearly explained that your delusion is not the case."

IbdaMann, you don't know me. Face to face we might be friends, but we would know enough to stay of the subject of Global Warning.

Few of the posts here are really contributory, Just personal insults or arguments about statistical definitions. I have seen this in other forums on other topics and I just leave. It appears that I would be better served to read scholarly articles on Global Warning
16-10-2016 20:07
Into the NightProfile picture★★★★★
(21582)
Sorry you feel this way. Such comments are rather inherent between those discussing such a contentious subject. They often stem from a point of view that has seen the argument you make so many times before, and they are tired of repeating themselves.

As far as definitions go: Yes, I agree redefinitions of words are a real problem. Most of the debate on anything is often over the meaning of what 'is' is, as the old joke goes. The definition of 'science', for example, carries with it much philosophy, which most people haven't studied much. The definition of 'statistics' carries with it the meaning of what data is, how to validate it, how to select it, and then running it through the mechanics of statistics to produce a summary that means something. Even the meaning of 'temperature' is discussed here: what it really is, and what that means for the larger debate.