Remember me
▼ Content

Nithane? Are you insane?

Nithane? Are you insane?17-10-2015 19:46
trafnProfile picture★★★☆☆
(779)
Okay, so I'm gonna go out on a limb here (like I've never done that before; cue evil laughter: Ah-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha!). For the first time anywhere on this website, I'm going to coin a new term: NITHANE. Now, if you're wondering, "What the hell is Nithane?" don't go running to an authoritative source like Wikipedia (IbdaMann, you stop that laughing right now or there'll be no more internet pitchers of beer for you, young man!), and don't bother asking any of your friends, because they'll be just as clueless, too. That's because nithane is not a thing, it's a something: a continuum of processes. Let me explain.

One of the great misnomers about M2C2 (man-made climate change) is that we are currently causing global warming. Yes, M2C2 can lead to GW, but that's in the end stages after most or all of the water has evaporated from Earth (okay, okay, just take a deep breath and go with it for now). While global warming will be important down the road, our real concern for now should be the things leading up to GW. And that's where yet another incorrect designation in the lineage of M2C2 comes in: CO2 as the main driver of M2C2. Yes, CO2 may be the starting point of M2C2, but if it is, then at best it's merely the primer. Why? Because of this.

It turns out that to get from where we are today to real global warming (I'm talking temperature increases measured in the 100's of degrees, not some measly 0.xxx degrees), you first have to get all the water off the planet. What for? Because the massive amount of water on Earth has the massive capacity to buffer and lessen the impact from GHG's atmospheric retention of solar-originated energy (ARSOE - weird, try saying it out loud - doesn't it sound like a drunk Englishman calling someone an asshole?). So how do you get all that H2O to go-go-go?