Remember me
▼ Content

American High School Students React to Climate Change

American High School Students React to Climate Change17-12-2016 09:23
studentmeetsworld
☆☆☆☆☆
(1)
I am a high school student and I am doing a class project to record high school student's reaction to climate change. Below is the video series that I am making.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9snxFVJ01wg&index=2&list=PLt3fW28z_BQpf7PUd8lJFnHJIEz0qmh8u

Not strong debates, mostly entertaining.
17-12-2016 12:24
Tim the plumber
★★★★☆
(1356)
That looks like a very well made video. I am surprised that a high school student is producing that level of quality. Well done.

I suggest that you ask students what they think will happen in the climate catastrophy, the flooding of cities etc. Then tell them what the actual numbers are in terms of the increased sea levels predicted, worste case of course, and video their reaction to a 3 feet sea level increase by 2100.

Edited on 17-12-2016 12:24
18-12-2016 00:58
Surface Detail
★★★★☆
(1673)
It's a nicely made video, but it does look a bit too much like laying a guilt trip on Americans for consuming too much energy. I'm not sure that's very productive. The reason that Europeans* use about half as much energy per capita as Americans is not because Europeans are particularly virtuous or self-sacrificing; it is because energy (and particularly gasoline) is much more expensive in Europe as a result of government policy. So people use energy more economically and European infrastructure has developed accordingly. You can't brow-beat people into changing their behaviour; you have to give concrete reasons to do so. And that is a matter for governments rather than individual consciences.

tl;dr: Energy taxes are far more effective than making people feel guilty when it comes to reducing energy consumption.